Furniture at dawn

We have found the house – no arguments.

We have sold the house – no arguments.

We have discussed the mortgage deal – no arguments.

Now we are getting down to the minutiae of what furniture goes where…….

= lots of arguments.

I find that if you don’t start as you mean to go in then you gave had it. Over the years I have learned that the best way to get what you want in marriage is to adopt the first line of defence that is most commonly observed in the behaviour of small terrier dogs …..ATTACK! 

The message must be understood loud and clear by the male – NO THAT IS NOT OK WITH ME.

For example, hubby says……”I would like to take my office chair to the new house and have it our new open plan living area”…..

I instantly visualise this hideous scene where the living room is dominated by this massive black leather squashy chair that even Chandler from friends would turn his nose up at. It doesn’t even vibrate. If it was the last office chair on the planet I would demand a recount. 

This office chair has been consigned to the shed at the bottom of our garden – it’s current location gives you another clue as to why I don’t like it (😉)

So, there is no compromise, no ‘we’ll see’ and deal with it later – it’s me or the chair.

This is only one of the debates.

How you organise your house is, in my view, something that affects your day-to-day happiness. The last thing you want is the male in the relationship getting ideas that may lead it down the ‘batchelor look but with family in tow’ kind of look.

Over….my…….dead…….body.

Don’t even get me started on the curtains.

This blog is for UNICEF.

Thanks for reading. 

Leave a comment