Boatateering begins again!

It’s Spring and for boat lovers, the faint whiff of anti-foul paint, oil and the sound of freshly unfurled sails heralds the start of the new season.

For me, I become ‘the bad wife’. The annual boat ‘lift in’ (the water) date happened to clash with my BFF’s birthday and childcare was already planned to make way for a day if indulgence. This  included a drive in a Jag F Type followed by spa. What more could a lady want?

I was not one of the mothers at the quayside chasing her young children around in between getting a boat habitable while hubby has his head in an inboard engine. No, I had better things to do with the breath in my body (neither do I feel particularly valuable staring at my husband’s back while he curses at some boat related issue that I can offer no assistance with…..I look up to see another woman standing in the cockpit looking down towards the cabin while her hubby also bangs and curses …. We both give each other a knowing look).

On my return, my hubby does the usual threat of ‘selling her’ as I am not doing enough to help him ( he means the boat not me….at least I think that is the case) – a threat that my children don’t even pay any attention to as he has threatened it so many times. I call his bluff and then I have his boating balls in my hand.

Already looking forward to another summer on the Isle of Wight. Yippee!

I love it really…..

This blog is for UNICEF and their work to protect children and families in crises – from Syria to Burundi.

Thanks for reading.

 

 

Leave a Reply

