Chosen lives with no choice

I have a picture of an Edwardian lady and her daughter walking along a pavement while men are busy working on the road. One road worker is stood upright as if pausing from his toil and watches the mother and daughter as they walk past. I can guess what he is thinking, that the daily life of the mother and daughter is perhaps more enjoyable than his. At least that is my perception.

I sometimes feel like that man when I see mothers out with their young children during the day. Working five days a week with my head down seeing my children for an hour either end of the day is tolerable while you are locked in routine.

But take time out, as I did today for my sons birthday, and you realise what you are missing. You also know time is brief and young years cannot be re-lived.

So it is with a heavy heart I return to work tomorrow. 

Here’s to all the working Mums who do it to bring home the bacon but certainly don’t choose this life while the children are young.

This blog is for UNICEF.

Thanks for reading. 

Leave a Reply

