Looking forward to helping & new dimensions

Just to give everyone an update on where I am with the independent visitor scheme.

As readers if this blog know, earlier in the year I tried and failed to get in a training course to become a social worker. I have been pursuing a passion to hell children in need gir a whole now. I was hoping to combine this passion with my day job, but it wasn’t meant to be.

However, when I found out about a volunteering opportunity which gave children in care an opportunity to go out on day trips with an adult to give them a break from being in care, I jumped at the chance. 

Children in care often change their faster placements as much as 3 times a year. This is a lot of disruption for a young person to handle, so having a visitor see them once a month gives them that consistency – no matter what is going on in their lives they will have that constant that their visitor will take them out and give them a break from it all.

Funded by the council, it could be a cinema visit, a dog walk or a theme park visit – the young person is in the driving seat as yo what they want to do – you just join them and support them. If they want to talk to you about stuff that’s fine but if not that’s fine also.  

After 6 months and a few training sessions, I am waiting to be matched with a young person.

I am told I am likely to be matched with a 15 year old boy. 

I am secretly hoping he likes roller coasters……and motorbikes…..and Motorsport in general.

But if not, I look forward to discovering something new.

This blog is for UNICEF.

Thanks for reading. 

Leave a Reply

