back to school

I slept better on the boat last week. Now I have returned to a double bed on terra firma I can’t get a decent night’s sleep.

I have returned to work and I miss my children. My youngest is with our childminder and my daughter is at a summer club at a smart school with lots of facilities. It’s midweek and both children are tired and emotional, to be frank we all are. I wrote a letter to my daughter and slipped it in her lunchbox to help her deal with nasty behaviour from another child, I then had a word with my husband about concerns with one of the children our childminder will have in her house while my son is there next week. My daughter says he is physical and aggressive yet she won’t be there to look out for my son, so hubby got an assurance from the CM that she will keep on top of it. Thankfully he will only be there for three days.

It’s not as if we have an awful lot of choices.  Living in a small rural village, you have to travel a good 10 – 15 miles before you get near nurseries etc. not to mention the commuting time to work. It’s the price you pay for living in the countryside. That’s why most mothers are either at home or do local part-time jobs. I used to be one of them, but it doesn’t bring home the bacon.

Tonight I put my very tired and emotional son to bed then went to my daughter’s room and also found her tired and crying. She feels like she is back at school already. 

So do I

This blog is for UNICEF.

Thanks for reading. 

Leave a Reply

