The age old feeling of family

Sorry for the missed blog post last night. I fell asleep on the sofa before I had a chance to look at the screen and then woke up in a black room and crept up to bed. Then was woken up first thing this am by my daughter and her friend who was with us for a sleepover. (so another £1 in the pot to Unicef)

There is a book that I enjoyed reading to my children called ‘Peepo’ by the Ahllbergs of a family in the 1940s and their life through the eyes of their baby. Each beautifully illustrated page shows the baby’s family go about their daily lives. Mother, father, 2 sisters and a granny. While Mum is doing the washing up, the children are playing around the clothes horse, the dad is stoking up the range with coal and the granny is getting clothes in from the washing line. On another page, the dad is puting on the kettle, the granny is doing the ironing and the mother is dozing in the easy chair – and theres a dog in the doorway who shouldnt be there…

Its of a life when families were arguably ‘closer’ because of financial and time constraints and the fact that technology had not evolved to the extent where more things could be crammed into a day.

I thought of this book when I was preparing a meal for all of us while my husband was unloading the car after a day of work and my Mum was taking down the washing from the clothes line. For a moment it hits you that you are a family unit, all working together for the greater good. No computer, TV or ipad can replace that feeling of being a family – and it was one of those moments you hope to recall when you need to think of positive things. Hence the reason why I am writing it in this blog so that when I am older I can look back on what it was like to have a family.

This blog is for Unicef.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

