peace v opportunity 

Home late last night after swim and girly catch up, so £1 in pot to UNICEF.

I am very excited today as I received news that I had passed the initial application for the step up to social work programme. The next step is the assessment which I have booked for the beginning of next month. 

This is a difficult time as I am very excited about the prospect of taking my application to train as a social worker forward but know that each step I take in this direction is met with a bucketful of resistance from my husband. He doesn’t understand why I want to do it. All he sees is stress, low pay and longer hours. Plus he thinks if I have a degree already and a career why get another degree for a job that will pay the same, if not less than I earn already. 

He also doesn’t like the idea of me training for a year, even though I get a grant to cover living expenses, because he thinks it will be too tight for us financially. 

I fear this is heading towards one of those horrible ultimatums where he forces me to choose. I was forced to do that once by him in my early twenties with some regrets, I really don’t want to give up on my hopes and dreams again.

Decision made even harder now I have two children.

Funnily enough, the fact that he has had a career change and Is now earning less money is ‘not the same’.

Once again I am excited about an opportunity but fearful of what negative reaction I will receive as a result.

But do I have it in me to turn my back on another opportunity to keep the peace?

This blog is for UNICEF.

Thanks for reading. 

2 thoughts on “peace v opportunity 

  1. I have had a very similar experience. You have to take the chance to follow your dreams. No doubt it is a tough course at time but it’s more than doable!! I’ve had some guilt about not being around as much for the kids and not having as much money as before but it’s short term and I’m sure over the years you have made many sacrifices for your husband and family. I know I have, his career came first which meant frequent moves and that he wasn’t available to help out with the kids which made it difficult for me to have commitments. Social work changes you too. I look at things and people in a different way, it makes you stronger, more likely to stand up and step in when you see things that aren’t right. It’s a good change! Go for it! You’ll have a blast!! …. and you deserve to be happy and fulfilled every bit as much as the other members of your family 🙂

    1. Thanks for getting in touch – all that is really encouraging to hear. I am gradually making progress with hubby. I think he is realising how important it is to me to take this step. I am very excited at the prospect of embarking on this course and know, however tough, it is the right thing to do.

Leave a Reply

