How nice should nice be? 

Just came back from drinks with a friend of mine who is going through a divorce and is experiencing all the typical challenges faced by a Mum of 3 children but with the added complications of financial and legal battles and a poorly elderly mother to look after too. She is one of the nicest people I know and you can see why, growing up, she had many friends and continues to be liked by so many. 

I guess the key thing is she doesn’t divide opinion, she has opinions but manages to keep them without provoking others and tolerating the nuances of others too.

I respect her and like her because I am not like that. I am sociable and I like talking to people but I also feel sometimes I am too opinionated. Yet when I try and tone myself down I feel I am not being honest to myself. There is an age that everyone reaches when you just say ‘take me or leave me’…’if you don’t like it tough’. I think this is meant to kick in later on in life when you become more cantankerous, say in your 70s. For me, it’s happening in my mid thirties. What is it going to be like when I am older……if my blood pressure hasn’t killed me by then. 

I am not as nice as my nicest friends and I regret that. This makes me wonder about my ambition to be a social worker, what are the best qualities and personality traits for the role? I don’t want to be square pegging a round hole but I really want to help children too. 

All will be revealed in 2 weeks time when I get the results of my application…I shall leave it to fate – my own personal and reliable religion.

This blog is for UNICEF.

Thanks for reading. 

Leave a Reply

