A wish for Aussie grandparents……and sun and sea

Today I was mostly cold and cursing my parents for having me in this country and then disappearing to sunnier climes in retirement (Australia), then they have the audacity to say how good it is down under and that we should go there…….with what money? 

Why didn’t they visit Australia BEFORE they had children, realise it was warmer and more pleasant outside, move, have children, then retire, go to the UK and say ‘thank God we moved, it was bloomin cold up there and the children all have runny noses’.

This is why I am eating more than normal (as per yesterday’s blog) because my body is still in hibernate mode and desires fat to keep warm. Ok it didn’t help today that I spent 2 hours on a boat, trying to stay still and not get caught up in all the lines hanging from the mast as my husband spent ages faffing…..what is it about boats and faffing? I reminded him of my proximity to the lines just before he did the big heave-ho as I was envisioning a scenario whereby he had not only strung the mast up but me as well. While there were 10 minutes of contemplation admiring the water and the scenery for the majority of the time my focus was keeping myself and the children dry and u frozen in anticipation of a drink and something to eat at the pub by the slipway.

By the time we got to the pub, I looked ridiculous in my winter wooly hat, sunglasses and galoshes but it made us do much more appreciative of a drink, a nibble, and a fire as we looked out at the sea – an appreciation that has lasted centuries.

This blog is for UNICEF.

Thanks for reading. 

Leave a Reply

