Uncharted waters…

Our boat is now on the water, in arguably one of the most beautiful spots on the South Coast. Compared to others moored nearby, it looks like a wind-up toy but we are boating on a budget so anything that float goes in our book. 

But it’s my daughter that already has ‘the bug’. Having helped us sometimes willingly and sometimes unwillingly on our boat, she is keen to get at the helm of a dinghy and has been studying the RYA handbook for children on sailing. So we decided we best get our money out and pay for a course. As it happens, the place we are now moored has its own sailing club. When I downloaded the membership form I noticed there had to be a ‘proposer’ and a ‘seconder’ which had to be people already in ‘the club’. This gave me the impression it was some old men’s club where you sit in Big chairs, drink brandy and smoke cigars. So, when we went down to the boat today, I noticed the clubhouse was open so decided to see how archaic it really is. I went up to the place that seemed to be most receptive to guests (where they were serving tea and cake) and as I started to explain my intentions a smiley lady putting milk in her tea, who had clearly just come off the water, remarked that her ears had been flapping when I came in and that she would be happy to talk to me as she is the memberships secretary.

She then proceeded to spend the next 40 minutes giving myself and my daughter a tour of the clubs facilities, the boats she could sail and details of all the events they have coming up. She couldn’t have been more welcoming and helpful and said not to worry about the proposer and seconder ‘it’s all old hat anyway’….phew! 

As she talked about the different boats and what my daughter could start doing on the water, my daughter’s eyes grew larger and larger. She desperately wants to start. Being a club I will have to pull my weight too to help her, so I am going to embark on a steep learning curve. I know how to tack up a horse, but rigging a dinghy? Cluelessmum.com

This blog is for UNICEF.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

