Love and the eonomy

My apologies for the missing posts over the past two eves. I was enjoying an M&S ‘dine out for two’ early valentines meal on Friday and felt I needed to enjoy time talking to my husband as we had to make up for some lost time (plus my daughter was back late from youth club because I got the pick-up time wrong and my hubby, who was picking her up, didnt leave on time).

Then it was my fantastic father’s wedding on valentine’s day. It was a very emotional day and it has been rare in my life that I felt my Dad needed a cuddle, but, as he contemplated walking up the aisle while I was fiddling with my button-hole, his questions about whether I was alright were my cue to give my Dad a big hug and tell him how happy I was for him. I shed a tear or two at their vows and it was lovely to watch them do the first dance. My Dad is getting soppy in his old age and it is wonderful to see. I also got some fantastic film of my baby boy and daughter dancing together to 50s, 60s and 70s hits with as much gusto as they would dance to current chart hits.

It doesnt matter how old you are, love is still brand new when you find it.

Dad toasted to everyone’s future in his speech and my hubby talked about my Dad and Stepmum as ‘lifelong companions’. I really hope that remains for as long as possible. They will now embark on a month long cruise of Australia, Indonesia and New Zealand – a trip of a lifetime that they deserve.

To finish this blog, with a nod to the future, I would encourage anyone concerned about the future of the UK economy to read this relatively straightforward essay by an Oxford Economics Professor on what should be done going forward forthe health of the economy – a must read regardless of your politics – particularly if you, like me, have relied on media reports as the main information source on the economy read – http://www.lrb.co.uk/v37/n04/simon-wren-lewis/the-austerity-con

This blog is for Unicef.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a comment