A womans job…

So have just been offered an interview with my old job from a decade ago, but now with more responsibility and more money. I have to go for it for the sake of my marriage health and our financial health but it saddens me that I will have to miss out on two full weekdays at home with my son together with the ‘top and tail’ hours I get either side of pre-school. In life, particularly with children, time is precious and in the early years especially because it doesnt take long for them to lose that innocence and morph into a streetwise, wise-cracking teen-like character overnight.

He has another year and a half to go before school so still quite a chunk of time to miss out on.

I remember when I returned to work when he was 9 months and crying as I handed him over to the nursery.He was fine, it was just me. Mums work regardless, its when they do the other less important work that brings in the money that emotional attachments, responsibilities and duties are maxed to the limit. Female emancipation means just doing more and more. A friend once said her brain can only hold the equivalent of an armful’s clutch of laundry and that a few dropped socks are inevitable if you get too ambitious. I can relate to the dropped socks.

My mum recently gave me a mug with the words ‘ a woman’s work is never done so why start’?

This blog is for Unicef. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

