is Green consumerism getting greener?

I am not what marketers would class as an ‘early adopter’, least of all in technology, which leaves me cold (although I do admit easy comfortable blogging has been made reality through devices such as tablet pcs – I am sat on a sofa covered in rugs in front of a log fire with my tablet propped up on a plump cushion). But, when it comes to greener ways of being a consumer, I am keen to give it a go. This is mainly because it isn’t easy seeking out the eco consumer route. Over the past decade it has got easier but there is a long way still to go. Those of you who have followed this blog for a while will be aware of my frustration with the big supermarket brands stocking biodegradable nappies. I am also completely against testing cosmetics and household cleaning products on animals, but finding a brand in the supermarket that displays the ‘freedom bunny’ logo, which is the trusted ‘cruelty free’ accreditation, is difficult unless you shop at the co-op. I do shop at the co-op but do the bulk of my shopping online as I live out in the sticks and the co-op don’t do online…grrr.

So when I heard via the BUAV that a new brand, Splosh, had received cruelty free accreditation, I was intrigued. Splosh was founded by a guy who noticed people buying household products in big plastic containers, which ultimately end up in landfill, because chemical residue in such bottles limits how they are recycled. So rather than a cleaning products manufacturer making less containers, they make more. This has a negative effect not only on landfill but also on the carbon dioxide emissions from manufacturing these containers. So he came up with a product that uses one bottle over and over again and the consumer receives a refill sachet through the post. All they then have to do is pop the sachet in the bottle, fill it up with hot water and hey presto. It is even cheaper than many of the leading brands and is cruelty free and eco. I can’t think of any boxes it hasn’t ticked in my book. So I am going to give it a whirl and let you know how I get on, I just need to use up all the supermarket bought products now. I wish life worked in the same way, I am in the same bottle but am long overdue a refill.

I am blogging every day to raise money for Unicef. If you like this blog, feel free to lend your support to the campaign here.

Thanks for reading.

 

Leave a Reply

