Cutting it out

I wish the dog had been sick before I decided to pig out on raspberry jam encrusted nutty toast. These were definitely non-essential calories. The evening has become breakfast hour. I miss out on breakfast and feel all saintly for having deprived myself, I then try and go easy at lunch and dinner, only to find it virtually impossible to go to bed without eating toast or a bowl of cereal, its as if I am on an upside down diet. The complete opposite of the mantra ‘breakfast like a king, lunch like a queen, dinner like a pauper’. Today I have had lasagne, crumble cake and custard, veg and potato and treacle pudding and custard……then toast. Yes, my body is a temple.

So on biting into the second slice of toast, I hear the dog chuck up and then wait for my husband to clean it up so that I can get an appetite back to eat the second slice. Then Fearnley – Whittingstall does a feature on the Norwegian delicacy of sheep heads and I completely and thoroughly regret my decision to over-eat. After all that is what this weird diet is about – suppressing my intake and then gorging later to counter-act the effects of feeling a bit rubbish and a bit cold. Which leads me nicely on to the reason why I missed the past two evening’s posts – a storm induced power cut. Not only did we not have the internet for 2 nights, we were doing everything alter sunset by head torch and candle light. So typing out a blog would not have been easy on the eyes. To be fair to the electricity board, they kept us very well informed of the progress in fixing the problem and even had the decency to put on free food for the village. My husband took full advantage of the free burger van parked outside our local by having no less than 2 burgers and a giant hot dog. What was refreshing about the power cut is that the children took on a whole new appreciation of their toys and we enjoyed lots of reading.

Part of my reading included a motorbike magazine called ‘ride’, within it I discovered an article about an amazing woman, Steph Jeavons,  who is going to attempt to ride around the world on a motorbike by herself over the next two years. Read her blog as she prepares to embark on the trip next month here.

I am blogging every day to raise money for unicef, if you enjoy these blog show your support for the campaign by visiting unicef’s site here.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a comment