Darwins female model

If you haven’t seen Ben Stiller’s ‘the secret life of Walter Mitty’ yet then do your soul a favour and go see it.

Without giving too much away, it shows how each of us are on a journey, which is slightly chaotic as you never know what is going to happen in life. I explained to my daughter earlier that if there is one thing I have learned in my 30 plus years, it is that there is no such thing as a ‘normal’ person. We are all nuts in our unique ways – some are nuts for good and some are nuts for bad. The trick is to ‘let your freak flag fly’.

I am slightly nuttier than usual because I am not getting much sleep, mainly through excitement in the build up to our holiday of a lifetime this weekend. I haven’t been to Disney world sine the 80s and I can’t wait to be there again, albeit slightly older – but I haven’t changed that much. Through the brilliant advice of blogs like ‘allgoodinmommyhood’ I have become slightly obsessive over Disney prep and planning but I have left it rather late. So I was so pleased when I was able to get my daughter a birthday meal at Cinderellas royal table in the castle and a pamper session at the bibbidi bobbidi boutique. I don’t know who is more excited me or her.

In anticipation of week 2 of our holiday in the Caribbean, I had my first ever wax treatment today – I took the plunge and had everything off. Well actually, I was glad I didn’t go for the Brazilian as my pain threshold wasn’t that high, but even so it was liberating to walk out of the salon as smooth as a baby (and slightly smarting). I am quite hairy for a lady. The beautician actually indicated on me where her natural bikini line is and it is a country mile from mine, which is half way down my thighs like a pair of side burns. Its almost as if whoever decides on your sex at conception was indecisive with me and opted for the ‘girl’ button at the last minute leaving little time for big bust genes and minimal body hair genes to work their magic. Whenever you see an illustration of Darwin’s evolution theory you always see the gorilla turn into the guy. Well if they ever wanted to be politically correct and show the same process with a female then my body, pre wax treatment, would demonstrate the ‘transition’ phase very well. I get hair on the tops of my feet, around my belly button and on my top lip…..eurgh! I hear you exclaim.

I am blogging every day to raise money for Unicef. I aim to make at least a pound a day for the charity so if you can donate that would be fab, visit Unicef’s site here.

Thanks for reading.

 

 

Leave a Reply

