Ethical shopping is hard to find

It is difficult to purchase ethical items.

This week I have been chasing an order I made with Ethical Superstore for more biodegradable nappies as the only supermarket that stocked biodegradable in my area, Waitrose, had stopped selling them. However the nappies got lost in the post so the Ethical Superstore sent me another batch by next day delivery. It came in 2 days and the delivery driver arrived when I wasn’t it and didn’t leave it by the door or with a neighbour. So I was left with no choice but to find a supermarket that stocked them as washables are OK for the day but they just can’t take all my baby boy’s piddle during the night.

I tried my nearest Sainsburys, who normally stock their own brand of eco nappies but, surprise surprise they were no longer in stock. So I travelled further afield to a huge Sainsburys and thankfully they not only stocked their own brand but Naty nappies too Eureka! So all in all it has taken me 2 weeks to lay my hands on biodegradable nappies. It seems I am a rare breed in seeking nappies that don’t clog up landfill sites, otherwise they would be more widely available – other Mums don’t give a shit (scuse the pun).

I have said this before in a previous post, but I find it bizarre that supermarkets encourage us to re-use shopping bags and not chuck plastic bags away but they don’t think it is that important to chuck nappies away that take 100 years to degrade? Bizarre. The worst culprit is Tescos – even their out of town mega stores don’t stock biodegradable. Shocking.

Now I am on the hunt for fairtrade clothing. My mother-in-law passed the latest catalogue of Mini Boden to my daughter and asked her to pick out some clothes for Christmas. I Hate Boden because I know that they get their clothes manufactured in sweat shops for next to nothing and then still charge a small fortune. So I said to my daughter that we would suggest a more ethical brand for Grandma to shop with. This is not as easy as it seems. If you have a child under the age of 2 and you want to dress them mainly in white cotton bodysuits, then there is a varied selection. Frugi is a fab brand but it only goes up to age eight and to be honest most of their styles will only appeal to children up to the age of 5 or 6 – my daughter funds it too babyish. Some of the high street brands use fairtrade cotton in school uniform, such as Marks and Spencer, but what about the rest of their clothes? There doesn’t seem to be enough effort made to rate high street retailers according to how well they treat the countries and people that manufacture the clothes for them. I would do it, but I don’t have the time to travel out to Bangladesh and check out working conditions. Things wont change until we as consumers start demanding to know exactly where our clothes some from and how well those people are paid and what conditions they work in.

I am blogging every day to raise money for Unicef. If you can help, please visit my page on Unicef’s site.</p>

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

