The price of enjoying being Mum

In addition to my daughter starting back at school yesterday, my baby boy started back at nursery too. He wasn’t at all happy about it. When I arrived he clung to my legs like a limpet to a rock and was weaving in and out of them like a fish circling round the one and only object in a small goldfish bowl. 

He wouldn’t make eye contact with any of the nursery teachers and every time they attempted to engage with him he buried his head in my trousers. So, wary of the need to get to the office, I extremely reluctantly extricated him from my shoulders like a little baby monkey and handed him crying to one of the teachers. I then felt awful on my way to work and quickly picked up the phone to ring and check he was OK as soon as I got to my desk, as I also needed to explain to them that he no longer needed dummy as I had got rid of it both day and night. I was worried they might look for it in an effort to calm him. But sure enough when I called he had stopped crying and was playing with the toys Phew!

When I went to collect him at the end of the day, he was playing at the other side of the garden with a toy car. It took a while for him to spot me, but when he did he made a bee line for me with a big grin on his face and arms outstretched and nothing was going to get in his way. He then gave me the longest cuddle I have had from him and I couldn’t help but cry. It was slightly embarrassing to be all weepy so I blamed the hormones to which the nursery manager asked “are you pregnant?”. I said that I wished I was only so that it would be a better excuse for my sentimental behaviour. I am not normally a tearful person but I couldn’t help it, it was a reaction that came from deep within and I had no control of it whatsoever.

I then wondered how many more mothers were going through the same feelings as me and I was thankful that I only have to work part-time. It must be so hard for both parent and child to be in full-time childcare at such a young age. I think it is a shame that the Government are seeking childcare that is more affordable and cheap. Why can’t at least one parent enjoy the early years of a child’s life? As those years don’t last long and once passed they are gone forever. Too often parents miss out on precious time together with their children during the early years just to sustain a certain lifestyle. I would choose a smaller house and a cheaper car any time if it meant I could enjoy my child’s early years. Weekend parenting is not what having children is about.

I am blogging every day to raise money for Unicef. Check out my fundraising page and donate if you can here.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

