Enjoying motherhood in the holidays

We are British so we expect to queue. So armed with Kelloggs 2 for 1 tickets my daughter and I set off to Chessington World of Adventures for the Day. I have lost count of how many times I went there as a kid. For my daughter it was her first time and had no idea what to expect apart from her friend waxing lyrical on the Bubbleworks and what she had heard about the new ride Zufari.

We queued for about 20 minutes getting in, which was to be expected as we hadn’t pre-bought tickets but once in, I expected to know instantly where I was and how to locate the rides just as I did in my teens. However, so much has changed and I found it very disorientating. For a start the entrance was situated at the complete opposite end of the park. I felt like the only way I could work it out for myself (as opposed to making sense of the map) was to locate the log ride. So glad we started with dragon falls as my daughter loved it although a bit perturbed by the final drop. She wanted to do it again but didn’t fancy the queue time, so after guzzling a chocolate waffle and eyeing up the 60 minute queue time for the Bubbleworks, I elected to grab a Fasttrack ticket for Bubbleworks and Zufari and it was money well spent. Cuts the queuing down from 1 hour to 5 minutes – a must for any child and parent combination (particularly with a child who is running on empty after one too many late night sleepovers with friends). Baby boy was at my Mums for the day so my daughter and I were free of the shackles of baby changing, buggy handling and toddler feed times to just doing whatever took our fancy whatever the time happened to be – perfect!

Since baby boy has come along I have felt it is even more important to take time out to spend purely with my daughter so that I have time to enjoy her too before she is too old to want her Mum around anymore. Although she is only 7 I know that time is only just around the next corner…..I love being a Mum beats everything – including a short stint working in my dream job….Formula One.

I am blogging every day to raise money for Unicef. See how the campaign is doing here. If you want to donate to Unicef, even better!

Thanks for reading and hope you are enjoying the Summer Hols!

Leave a Reply

