The Big Wedding rings a few bells

Apologies for absence last night, I indulged in a girly flick at my local community cinema with my friend from school days. The tickets were an impulse purchase after dropping my daughter off at Theatre School at the same venue and noticing the poster for ‘The Big Wedding’ and noticing a few familar faces (Susan Sarandon and Robert De Niro, plus a whole load of other faces I don’t know the names of but have seen in countless films and TV shows). 

I didn’t have very high hopes and was unsure whether it was something I should have taken my mother to as is started off a bit like a blue rinse flick. However the sight of Susan Sarandon receiving oral sex on a kitchen counter-top during the first few scenes of the film made me glad I wasn’t reduced to squirming in my seat while sat next to my mother (phew!).

It actually rang lots of bells for me as the plot navigated its way through the awkwardness (albeit exaggerated) of combining families through marriage (particularly when the groom alone has 3 mothers (birth, adopted and step). I know what it’s like to have 3 Mums and it can be quite complicated although I don’t have to put up with any lesbian tendencies or lewd public conduct (at least I hope I don’t….or ever will for that matter). Although my Dad is getting rather leery in his old age. I found him chatting up my neighbour from 2 doors down the other day, in front of my StepMum too for God’s sake.

Anyway if you haven’t seen it yet then I recommend at least watching it on DVD. See the trailer here.

Right, I better get back to the discussion I was having with my husband earlier about careers and moving house. After both of us getting back and prowling round eachother with our claws out like a pair of big cats in a cage, we realise something might need to change. However, I soon broke the tension with only a threat of pummelling him with the hose gun while out watering the garden. We are all still complete and utter kids at heart and I love it.

I am blogging every day to raise money for Unicef. If you are able to donate too visit my page on Unicef’s site. Thank you.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

