Opening doors

When I was about 8 or 9, my ‘wonderful’ state primary thought it would be a good idea to ask our year group to do a project on doors. Yes doors. I can’t recall why doors was a chosen topic, I remember being sceptical as to the rationale behind this project as a child. The project was the brain child of a young visiting teacher. Looking back I think he was from teacher training college as he seemed to be receiving a lot of support from our class teacher in the way that a hairdresser stands back to let a ‘minion’ do the hair-wash.
“Doors are great because they come in lots of shapes and sizes and you never know for sure what lies behind them”, said our enthusiastic nicampoop of a teacher. I wish I had kept the project I did as a child for a laugh. However, it has worked insofar as I remember doing it. I don’t remember many of the other projects I did during primary school so it was memorable in its stupidity.
So what has inspired my recollection of the doors project? Well, my husband and I have just wasted 15 minutes of our life talking about doors. What type of door we should have (definitely not wood as too draughty but not UPVc as it looks crap). We have also discussed what colour it should be (blue) and how the back door should look (a bit more glass). For some reason we think it might improve the kerb appeal of the house but I am not entirely convinced it is worth the 2k minimum price tag.

My friend has been having quotes for a new kitchen and is expecting to pay 20k. The designer they had used to review their kitchen was commenting on other clients who paid upwards of 100k. Crazy money. For that I would want a full-time chef thrown in too and maybe a sous chef as support when my daughter has a friend over.

It got me to thinking how much money is wasted on bricks and mortar. I say ‘waste’ because it is hard to think of anything decorative having a significant impact on the value of a property. Sarah Beenie may have something to say about that but I could think of many better ways to spend money other than improving the cupboards that store saucepans and upgrading the countertops used to chop vegetables. Oh and doors….I can’t believe I am regretting having binned my very worthwhile school project on doors.

I am blogging every day for Unicef. It would be great if you could support me and the campaign.
Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

