Dangerous dogs

We went for a walk last night at our local beach and took the dogs. This was the first time I had walked the dogs outside in public since we had the black labrador incident a few days ago. I can’t recall if I mentioned it in this blog so in a nutshell, here is what happened:

Me plus 2 JRs walking along minding our own business, woman comes running along about 500 yards away from us launching a tennis ball for her black lab closely followed by her sausage dog. Lab is all het up chasing after the ball and decides to hare it at full pelt towards us. One of my dogs feels threatened so growls and shows her teeth, lab sees red (very unlike a labrador) picks her up  and starts shaking her furiously. She starts screaming and I realise if I don’t intervene soon she is going to get seriously hurt. So I physically extricate my dog from the jaws of this lab and get caught by the lab’s teeth in the process. As I lie my dog down to examine where the blood is coming from, the lab starts on my other jack. Needless to say this took me by complete surprise. The owner of the lab didn’t have a lead and was desperately trying to get hold of her lab to control it. I felt incredibly vulnerable and, for the first time, scared of a labrador. The owner shouted from a distance if my dog was alright while she held on to hers. I couldn’t see any major wounds just a few scratches and bruising and didn’t say anything else in the rush to get as much distance between myself and the lab.

This is the second time I have experienced a dog attack in the space of a couple of months. Needless to say it has made me somewhat jumpy. I didn’t realise that it had affected me to such an extent until last night. We were returning from a walk along the beach when a large black dog of no clear breed comes bounding along. It looked friendly enough until it raced up to one of my dogs. Now it doesn’t help that, due to my dogs’ terrier mentality, they default to defence or attack rather than submission. My dog starts to growl and then the big dog starts to get boisterous, I was suddenly anxious and scooped my dog up in my arms at which point the big dog mounted me to try and get to my dog and she showed her teeth and the other dog looked as if it was getting its teeth out too (although maybe that was my imagination) but even so I felt very vulnerable and that I was going to be stuck in the middle of a dog fight. 

We went for a dog walk today and I was nervously putting my dog on a lead every time I saw another dog coming towards us. It seems as if I have become a bit of a nervous wreck on dog walks. To make matters worse, I don’t feel comfortable walking my dog at home as my dodgy neighbour’s dog (which I have mentioned in previous posts) seems to have returned for the weekend (it stays with the ‘grandparents’ occasionally – the owner’s parents). They don’t ever bother to put it on a lead so at any point it could attack if you encounter it (as it has done to more than one dog in the neighbourhood given that it is a rather docile combination of rottweiler cross staffie).

So what is the conclusion? Dogs that bite other dogs should they be classed as dangerous?  I think the answer is yes because how can you be certain that they won’t do the same to a human? I think something needs to be done in the UK to up the ante on the control of dangerous dogs. The law as it currently stands is pathetic. The rottie cross staffie in our neighbourhood is not controlled at the very least by a lead let alone a muzzle. So what does the dog warden do? He visits them and asks them to put it on a lead – do they care? No. Can the dog warden enforce his request to put the dog on a lead? No.

So what is the point of a dog warden?

I am blogging every day to raise money for Unicef. If you are able to contribute to the campaign, please visit my page on Unicef’s website.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

