Diets and saddlebags

Today I have eaten half a baguette (just the bread), a massive bowl of fruit crumble and custard, one apple, 4 light rich tea biscuits, 2 slices of toast, 1 raspberry yoghurt and then that was it until hubby returned with a big bag of cookies so then had to add 2 x big choc chip cookies to the list too.

Not sure I have managed to scrape my five a day in that diet? On the positive side I did swim 30 lengths of a swimming pool at lunch-time, so hoping that canceled out one of the cookies?

My colleagues noticed that my tray in the dining hall at lunch-time contained an unhealthy mix of carbs and little else. When they asked what I would have for dinner, I get the impression they expected me to say ‘meat and two veg plus fruit’. In fact, I just have toast because that is the most satisfying way to beat hunger fast. Sounding like I have an eating disorder yet?

But for the first time in my life I am able to stay between a size 8 and 10 AND eat the foods I like to eat (mainly bread and then the odd bowl of broccoli or fruit just to inject a bit of goodness in). I have a sweet tooth so get very very low calorie yoghurts, mousses and other treats that are more sweet and less calorific. However when my Dad visits he likes to give me and my children lots of chocolate – so usually binge on the bar I get given to ‘share’ with my husband until it is eliminated from the cupboards! Is my diet ruled by keeping calorie intake low? – most of the time yes BUT when crumble is on the menu at work I find it hard to resist so I try to make it up in the pool or doing power hoop (a brilliant exercise that pummels away at your waist and hips).

My butt has shrank a little bit too, which is amazing given it has stayed so big for most of my life. However, if I kicked the sweet stuff entirely I might stand a chance of turning the butt cheeks from saggy to supple. Its the saddlebags that really need to go now. So am going to start doing these exercises daily to see what happens – read this pilates routine online. Tomorrow I will measure my baggy butt and then see if anything has shifted by the 20th July.

I am blogging every day to raise money for Unicef. If you are able to support this campaign, please visit my page on Unicef’s site.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

