A wet Saturday

I got a bit carried away on Friday night and did two blog posts. The later one was inspired by the Parking Lot Confessional blog and had an attempt at writing 500 words that included a sentence chosen by the PLC. A good way to scrape the barrel for a drop of creative juice. 

Yesterday’s blog post would have been full of doom and gloom so a good job I didn’t write it.Last week’s perfect Saturday was replaced with my husband and I in stalemate over the purchase of a clock (I bought it, he wants me to take it back – both won’t back down so we pretend to be Benedictine Monks and take a temporary vow in mutual silence (with an atmosphere loaded like a gun). Living in this pleasant atmosphere makes everything hard work. So I attempt to bake in the morning with my daughter and after a good hour in the oven (stuttered by frequent attempts with a knife to will the mixture to set), it ends up on the bird table. Not a good start, the birds don’t appreciate how much washing up went into their food that morning. Then my daughter invites her friend from over the road to stay for a play. Most of the time it was OK but their play-date was a bit like a spinning top, you had to keep giving it momentum in the shape of ‘ideas’. I was not in my most creative frame of mind and her friend asked me “When you were our age what did you do?”. I honestly couldn’t remember and my daughter’s friend’s attempt to get me thinking creatively about play ideas hit a brick wall in my memory. “To be honest I can’t remember what I did when I was your age”. (Well I could actually it was around the time when my parents divorced and I was a little head-fuck plus an only child so I didn’t ‘play’ an awful lot. Just to spend time with my Mum and my Dad, albeit separately, was a pleasure in itself. 

But we did manage a quick 5 minutes in the play park, with the mother of my daughter’s friend joining us until the heavens opened and we had to sprint back home. All I had was a gillet that I had already covered over baby boy in the pram so that he could sleep so he was fine but I got wet very quickly and there is something about running fast in the rain without much wet weather gear that makes you go all giggly. It was the highlight of an otherwise shitty day. So there you have it, if you are feeling rubbish and you need a quick pick-me-up ‘hit’ go for a run with not much on when the rain is pelting down – you can’t beat it.

I am blogging every day to raise money for Unicef. If you could like to donate to the campaign, please visit my page on Unicef’s site.

Thanks for reading.

 

Leave a Reply

