Passion between the pages

This week I am going to be investing in reading. Today I invested money in reading through payment of library fines. You don’t get charged for overdue children’s books but you do get charged postage for the reminder letters “It has been over 2 months since you last renewed the items on your account”. It’s a price I’m willing to pay because when I do manage to squeeze a library trip in, my daughter is so excited to discover the books I have chosen for her. My baby son also enjoys his trips to the library and usually has an array of board books selected using the highly sensitive method of tasting and chewing on them first.

Tomorrow is World Book Night and my Step mum will be collecting 20 copies of Alexander McCall Smith’s ‘The No 1 Ladies Detective Agency’ for me to distribute amongst the non-reading community to inspire them to read. I should have picked them up today while I was in the library but post twenties and post childbirth, I am a few brain cells short in the memory department so thankfully my step mum is stepping in to help while I am at work. I have a number of channels to my non-reader market – a school, friends who don’t read, friends who know others that don’t read, lumberjacks who really don’t read (not sure what they will think of having the word ‘Ladies’ in the title though) and local Big Issue sellers. If I could get just one person hooked on reading as a result it would be worth it. I think it is a brilliant initiative that recognises the fact that it is never too late to get into reading and that it opens up a whole new world.

World book night is funded by charitable donations and grants. It works by giving volunteers who are passionate about reading the chance to share their passion and inspire others to pick up a book through a few carefully selected titles to whet their appetite. For more information check out the World Book Night site.

In honour of World Book Night tomorrow, I will list my favourite all-time books. 

I am blogging every day for Unicef to raise money for this vitally important cause. To support my blogging campaign, please visit my page on the Unicef website.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

