Tongue-tied

Tongue-tied is a curious phenomena affecting between 3 and 10% of newborns who have a particularly tight line of flesh called the frenulum. This restricts the sideways and upwards movement of the tongue causing difficulty in eating and speaking. There are varying degrees of severity and it is more common in boys.

My baby boy is tongue-tied. The midwife identified it when he was born. His tongue is a bit lizard like. Some tongue-ties can almost look forked but with my son it is less severe and looks more like a slight indentation. I didn’t think much of it as he didn’t have any problems with breast-feeding but I have noticed that he rejects some foods with very smooth or very hard textures – swilling them round his mouth before spitting them out as if he doesn’t know what to do with them. Apparently this is a typical symptom of tongue-tie. I didn’t know that when he was very small he could have had the frenulum snipped to release his tongue. But now he is over 1 with teeth he may require a general anasthetic. Wish I had got  it sorted earlier.

Still I am better off sorting it now before he develops further complications with eating and before he starts more advanced speech. So off to the Docs on Monday to see what the good old NHS can do…

I am blogging every day to raise money for Unicef. If you are able to support my charity blogging, pleas visit my page on the Unicef site.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

