A tip off

Today I am struggling to think of anything worth typing into this space. In addition to helping to raise money for Unicef, I am writing this daily blog as a kind of intellectual pension for my old age. Looking back on the recollections of a thirty-something with family will hopefully keep me entertained and prolong my memory for a little longer, thus fending off dementia. Time will tell if it works… Maybe I will continue to write this blog well into my 80s, I hope so.

So for today, on the eve of the Grand National, I will reflect back on some of my favourite Nationals, and one of my favourite horses from yesteryear……West Tip. But in that race Dark Ivy suffered a brutal and fatal fall (1.41 in the playback) – they have since been amending the fences over the decades to make them safer. However, reducing the height and minimising ditches has done the opposite. I think drop fences are the most unforgiving and should be reviewed. The death of the race favourite last year, Synchronised, shows they still have a long way to go. It is clear that the deaths have increased over the past couple of decades in the Wikipedia summary since the first ever race of the National. So to motivate them to make it safer still – I ain’t betting.

I am blogging every day to raise money for Unicef. If you are able to support the campaign, please visit my page on the Unicef website.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

