Seventy-five million

Sorry for the missed post yesterday, another £1 in the pot for Unicef – the cause I am fundraising for through this blog. Last night I played host to a party selling aloe vera products with the added bonus of free facials and foot spas. My Bulgarian friend ran the show alongside her Finnish business partner. They had trouble finding my rather remote village. They are not used to ambient lighting and few landmarks other than sheep and rabbits. At first I thought my friend was in a completely different place when she said, “Well we have arrived in the town but need to know where to go next?”. “Sorry, town?” I think in her Bulgarian way she was using town to mean houses as opposed to woods. 

When they got to mine they were on the hunt for a bucket to do the foot spa. She was shocked when I went out into the garden to get the bucket and then started to scrub out the soil. I didn’t know posh indoors buckets existed. But don’t get me wrong, she was in no way snooty, it was just an alien environment to her in comparison to Greenwich, London, where she used to live.

It was an enjoyable evening of wine pampering, nibbles and gossip. I was disappointed to miss the Comic Relief show. However I was very impressed to learn this morning that the campaign had raised £75 million for causes at home and in Africa – this breaks all previous records. It just goes to show that in times of recession people do have the capacity to dig deep to help people. That is encouraging to say the least. 

Going back to the party, the aloe vera products looked good but expensive. I was also un-convinced that the products were fairtrade – I’m sure the profit margins do not get filtered down to the aloe vera farmers in the way they should. It is good to see my daughter recognising the importance of fairtrade during fairtrade fortnight at her school. They did a competition for classes to collect the most fairtrade packaging in one week. It brought it home to me how so little of the grocery products we buy are labelled fairtrade. The only packets I could find in the cupboard were chocolate and sugar – the industries that gave the UK aristocracy their wealth through slavery in the cane fields and cacao plantations in the 17 and 1800s – how long has it taken to finally give the producers a fair price for their labour?

I am blogging every day to raise money for Unicef to help protect vulnerable children world-wide. I hope to raise £1 a day once this blog becomes more popular – if you can help please visit my page on the Unicef website.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

