Baby autism

Well we returned safe and sound from snowy Wiltshire. I have been offline since Thursday so that’s £5 in downtime fees to Unicef. We had a fabulous time in the winter wonderland of Longleat forest. I ate far too much on my birthday and the whole weekend for that matter. I also got wet and dry and then wet and dry far too much (owing to my daughter taking me down the outdoor rapids a few too many times). It is the most bizarre sensation being outside amongst the snow completely immersed in warm (ish) water. A warm body and a freezing cold head is strange.

We returned to a very very cold house (it read 6 degrees in my son’s room) and were delighted to find that the heating wasn’t working and the woodburner made the room warmer but not warm enough. How did people cope before heating was invented? They had baths in front of the fire and wore lots of woollen clothes and ate lots of porridge. My Dad is currently on a cruise in the Caribbean (well at least I think he is, his plane was due to take off on the day it snowed and he isn’t home). I keep imagining how warm it is there…….

I  must get to the reason for today’s title. My sister-in-law suspects that her son (my four month old nephew) is autistic. Why? Because his eyes don’t appear to be tracking her finger, he sticks his tongue out a lot and doesn’t smile at her or seem to respond to her. He is three weeks premature so can be forgiven for being a bit behind developmentally, but, autistic? Given the nature of autism, I was under the impression that it can only really be diagnosed from toddler age. Does anyone else have experience of autism? I would love to hear views and experiences for the benefit of my little nephew. With any luck it is just a case that he needs glasses. And as for the tongue, well, I know lots of babies who do that so don’t find that particularly strange. Some babies also take a while to smile too……

I am blogging every day for Unicef’s campaign to help vulnerable children world-wide. If you found this blog interesting please donate £1 to the campaign by visiting my page on the Unicef site.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

